HOME  |  LOGIN  |  CONTACT Subscribe to our news feed Follow us on Twitter   Find us on LinkedIn   Subscribe to our YouTube Channel  |  Reduce font size  Increase font size

Latest News

New Principal Councils come into effect

Published 2nd April 2019

Two new Dorset unitary authorities have formally taken over from the county’s nine previous councils. Dorset Council and Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council said the change would “protect frontline services,” having previously said that around 450 jobs would be lost as a result of the mergers, with savings of £108m to be realised over six years.
The new authorities will hold elections on 2nd May, reducing the total number of council seats from 333 to 158. Dorset Council Chief Executive, Matt Prosser, said the authority’s first budget “protects and invests in…education, social care, waste collection and tackling homelessness,” something that “wouldn't have been possible without the reorganisation of our councils.”
In Suffolk, the new East Suffolk Council and West Suffolk Council have officially come into being, with the former being the country’s biggest non-metropolitan district council by population. The new authorities, formed from the merger of the former Suffolk Coastal, Waveney, St Edmundsbury and Forest Heath district councils, follow two years of negotiations, and will have fewer elected representatives.
Click here for further information regarding the new Suffolk District Council.
Click here for further information regarding the two new authorities in Dorset.

Return to SLCC news

Principal Sponsor

Principal Sponsor
  • Post to:
  • twitter logo