HOME  |  LOGIN  |  CONTACT Subscribe to our news feed Follow us on Twitter   Find us on LinkedIn   Subscribe to our YouTube Channel  |  Reduce font size  Increase font size

Latest News

Prime Minister rebrands DCLG to MHCLG

Published 9th January 2018

Prime Minister Theresa May has confirmed that her government’s renewed focus on housing will be reflected in the title of the Whitehall department that oversees the sector in the post-Grenfell Tower era.

The Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) will now be known as the Ministry for Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG), with Sajid Javid remaining as secretary of state.

Mr Javid will be expected to deliver a much larger volume of new homes, as well as continue to oversee the Government’s response to the Grenfell Tower fire, in which 71 people died in June.

Ms May has previously described the housing policy brief as her ‘national mission’.

As part of the reshuffle, Marcus Jones has left his post as local government minister. Mr Jones, a former leader of Nuneaton and Bedworth BC, has served at DCLG since May 2015 but has now been moved to the Conservative Party’s central office, where he will serve as the party’s deputy vice chair for local government.

The new ministerial team is Dominic Raab MP, Minister of State for Housing, Jake Berry MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for the Northern Powerhouse and Local Growth); Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Minister for Faith; Rishi Sunak MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State and Heather Wheeler MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State.

Click here for further information.

The newly re-named Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government also has a Twitter feed, you can view it here


Return to SLCC news

Principal Sponsor

Principal Sponsor
  • Post to:
  • twitter logo