HOME  |  LOGIN  |  CONTACT Subscribe to our news feed Follow us on Twitter   Find us on LinkedIn   Subscribe to our YouTube Channel  |  Reduce font size  Increase font size

Latest News

Secretary of State announces support for Local Government overhaul in Dorset

Published 14th November 2017

The Secretary of State for communities and local government, Sajid Javid, has agreed to support plans to create two new unitary authorities in Dorset.

There are currently two small unitary councils, Bournemouth and Poole, in the Dorset area which are surrounded by a two-tier structure of Dorset County Council and the district councils of Christchurch, East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset and Weymouth & Portland.

If implemented, the plans outlined in the Future Dorset paperwill see the nine councils replaced by two unitary councils, saving the area a projected £108m in the first six years.

One of the proposed authorities would cover the areas of Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch and the other would cover the remainder of the current county area. The proposals are, however, not supported by Purbeck District Council.

Mr Javid also announced he is also minded to approve the locally-led proposal to merge Suffolk Coastal DC and Waveney DC into a single district council.

The proposals for Dorset also appear to be advancing the possibility of a new town council for Weymouth being created in 2019. With a population of 56,000 it would become one of the largest local councils in the country. Please click here for further information.


Return to SLCC news

Principal Sponsor

Principal Sponsor
  • Post to:
  • twitter logo