HOME  |  LOGIN  |  CONTACT Subscribe to our news feed Follow us on Twitter   Find us on LinkedIn   Subscribe to our YouTube Channel  |  Reduce font size  Increase font size

Latest News

SLCC Awards 2019 - Submit your nominations

Published 21st May 2019

The National Conference in October will again start with the Society’s Annual Awards Ceremony when we celebrate the skills, dedication and professionalism of senior officers serving councils large and small throughout England and Wales.

Every branch is now invited to submit nominations for the various categories. A Panel appointed by the Board of Directors will determine the best three in each category who will then be invited to Conference, where their contribution can be recognised and the final winner announced.

The various categories of awards are:

  • New Clerk of the Year - presented to a member who has excelled in the early stages of their clerk’s career. Nominees can be any clerk with less than three years’ service in the role (any clerk who entered the profession after 1st October 2015).
  • Bryan Metcalf Award for Volunteering – awarded in memory of one of the SLCC's greatest and longest serving volunteers, this award is presented to a member who has demonstrated exceptional voluntary service to the SLCC.
  • Professional Innovation Award – awarded to recognise your SLCC's core values, this award is presented to a member who has demonstrated exceptional creativity or an innovative approach in any element of the delivery of their council’s work.
  • Best magazine article by a member - presented to the member who has contributed the best article to The Clerk Magazine in the preceding year (from October 1st 2018).
  • Best case study at a regional or residential event - awarded to the member who has presented the best-case study at an SLCC conference or Regional Training Seminar in the preceding year (from October 1st 2018).
  • Long Service Award(s) - awarded to a limited number of nominees annually who have served the SLCC over an extended period. Please note that the minimum criteria for a successful nomination are:
    • 30 years’ service as a clerk
    • Active service to SLCC
    • Retired or retiring between 1st June 2019 and 31st May 2020

Branches have until 1st September to submit their nominations, so make sure your branch is aware of whom you feel merits an award!


Return to SLCC news

Principal Sponsor

Principal Sponsor
  • Post to:
  • twitter logo