2023 National Conference & Awards

18 October 2023

We would like to thank all members who attended our annual National Conference on 11 and 12 October 2023, either in-person or virtually, as well as all our many speakers and exhibitors. Based on feedback received so far, the event was once again a great success.

We had an array of interesting and inspirational guest speakers, including Figen Murray OBE, the force behind Martyn’s Law (Protect Duty) and mother of Martyn Hett, one of the 22 people killed in the 2017 Manchester Arena terrorist attack; Andrew Towlerton, SLCC National Planning Advisor who provided an insight into how councils and clerks can best approach and deal with the planning system; Malcolm Smith, Senior Education and Engagement Officer, UK Parliament, who gave an insight into how UK Parliament operates and how clerks can help their council and community build relationships with MPs and Lords and influence and scrutinise national policy; Tilly Lockey, who at only 18 has helped develop stateof-the-art bionic arms with Open Bionics which she wears every day, having lost both her hands to meningitis and septicaemia as a young child; and many more!

We would also like to congratulate our 2023 SLCC Award winners:

  • Long Service Award: Sue Templeman, Ackworth Parish Council, Roger Greenwood, Heptonstall Parish Council, and Rodney Duggua, Chichester City Council
  • New Clerk of the Year Award: Ross Willmott, Mountsorrel Parish Council
  • Best Magazine Article Award: Matthew Gleadell, Newark Town Council
  • Bryan Metcalf Award for Volunteering: Gina Lopes PSLCC, Easton Parish Council
  • Best Case Study at a Residential or Training Event: Helen Ball FSLCC, Shrewsbury Town Council
  • Myrna Liles Cup Award for Branch Membership Growth: West Wales Branch
  • John Crompton Cup for Mentoring: Claire Commons FSLCC, Shepton Mallet Town Council
  • Outstanding Contribution Award: Mark Galbraith, Clerk to Llanelli Rural Community Council and SLCC Wales Policy Liaison Officer
  • Chief Executive’s Staff Award: Wayne German, SLCC Sales and Marketing Assistant
  • Certificate in Local Council Administration (CiLCA) Exemplary Award: Sarah Edmunds, Clerk to Goring on Thames Parish Council, Stephanie Kirby, Deputy Clerk to Prudhoe Town Council, Ann Lyon, Administration and Finance Officer to Dursley Town Council, and Stephen Smith PSLCC, Clerk to Wool Parish Council
  • Honorary Vice President Award: Johnathan Bourne FSLCC, SLCC Senior Support Tutor
  • Pauline Whitehead Perseverance Award: Celia Price PSLCC, Lancing Parish Council

Thank you to everyone who purchased raffle tickets in support of our outgoing President’s, Linda Carter FSLCC, two chosen charities Centrepoint and the SLCC Educational Fund. Linda raised an incredible £2,279 during her year of office, including £1,275 raised at National Conference.

Finally, we would like to thank Blachere Illumination who generously sponsored our 2023 National Conference.

Please save the date for SLCC’s next National Conference which will take place on Tuesday 8 and Wednesday 9 October 2024.

SLCC Training and Updates