All Party Parliamentary Group for Economic Development launched

14 March 2019

Economic development and regeneration professionals working in public, private and third-sector roles will have their interests championed in policy circles following the formation of a new All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG).

The non-partisan APPG for Economic Development brings together senior parliamentarians, policy-makers and economic development practitioners and will consider a number of important issues such as town centre regeneration, rural economic development, job creation, productivity, digital adoption, business rates and ensuring areas receive their fair share of funding from government. The Institute of Economic Development (IED), which led the APPG formation, will act as the group’s Secretariat.

Upon officially opening the APPG at a Palace Westminster reception on Monday 11th March, Minister for the Northern Powerhouse Jake Berry MP said: “There couldn’t be a more important time to establish this group, with a burning passion to move beyond Brexit and on to policies for local growth. If you just create growth in our cities not everyone will benefit. We need to do more for our local communities.”

APPG Chair Andrea Jenkyns MP revealed: “We will begin our work by looking at what needs to be done to revitalise high streets and coastal towns. By taking an in-depth look at their unique selling points we will work to safeguard them for the future. We will also look at how to increase productivity across the whole country. How will the technological revolution affect local economies? We will also look at how communities are funded at a local level right across the country. What does further devolution look like? These are just some of the questions that we hope to tackle over the coming year. Whatever your views on Brexit, the British public now want politicians to focus on the things that matter to them.”

Officers of the APPG are: Andrea Jenkyns MP (Chair); Jack Brereton MP (Vice Chair); Rupa Huq MP (Vice Chair); Jack Lopresti MP (Vice Chair); Martin Vickers MP (Vice Chair); Conor Burns MP; Alex Chalk MP; Simon Clarke MP; Scott Mann MP; Paul Scully MP and Matt Warman MP.


FundingGeneral Sector News