Celebrate the Success of your Cemetery

9 June 2020

The Cemetery of the Year Awards 2020 competition, which is designed to help the industry by creating an information source of best practice in Burial Grounds from leading industry organisations, allowing entrants to develop their Cemeteries, improve standards and create environments and services that are safer, more user friendly and compliant with current legislation, is now open.

The free to enter competition is now live and will run until July 31 2020 and is open to any Burial Authority (Cemetery or Churchyard) within the UK.

The four categories of Cemeteries are:

  1. Large Burial Grounds above 10,000 graves
  2. Small/Medium Burial Grounds up to 10,000 graves
  3. Parish, Town and Community Councils
  4. Natural Burial Ground Provider

To enter the competition and complete the online application form, visit the CYA website by clicking here.

The application form is simple to complete and allows the applications to be marked objectively with pre-defined points allocated in each section. This will allow feedback to be given to each entrant showing not only their overall competition marks but also how they can improve and develop their Cemeteries.

The deadline for all completed online forms to be received is 31 July 2020.

The best entries will receive notification in writing that they have reached the short-list of finalists. An adjudicator will then visit each short-listed Burial Ground to confirm the application information submitted and give advice on possible improvements.

The Gold Award Winning Cemetery in each category will receive £1,000 prize money as well as a ‘Cemetery of the Year 2020 framed Gold Certificate’ along with a CYA press release that can be used to promote their work and achievements.

Runners up, in each category, will receive a ‘Cemetery of the Year 2020 framed SILVER Certificate’ and a CYA press release.

The Cemetery of the Year Award 2020 has been supported and endorsed by:

  • Institute of Cemetery and Crematorium Management (ICCM)
  • The Federation of Burial and Cremation Authorities(FBCA)
  • The Society of Local Council Clerks (SLCC)
  • Memorial Awareness Board (MAB)
  • British Register of Accredited Memorial Masons (BRAMM)
General Sector News