Cumbria unitary authority talks to go ahead

21 November 2018

Council leaders in Cumbria have agreed to start talks with the Government about replacing the county’s existing county council and six district and borough councils – Barrow, South Lakeland, Copeland, Eden, Allerdale and Carlisle – with a single unitary authority.

Cumbria County Council leader Cllr Stewart Young said the move was not “meant as a criticism of any of the district councils” and their “dedicated, hard-working officers and councillors,” while Conservative group leader Cllr James Airey said the councils between them had seven “good” chief executives and more than 400 councillors, leading to “huge costs” which were not going towards services.

For further information, click here


General Sector News