Nominations for SLCC’s Annual Awards are now open!

29 March 2023

You can nominate your colleague(s) for the SLCC Annual Awards which celebrate the skills, dedication and professionalism of senior officers serving councils large and small throughout England and Wales.

Submit your nomination(s) before the closing date on Friday 1 September 2023 and a panel appointed by the SLCC Board of Directors will determine the best three nominees in each category. The winners will be announced at National Conference 2023.

The various categories of awards are:

  • New Clerk of the Year – presented to a clerk who has excelled in the early stages of their career. Nominees can be any clerk with less than three years’ service in the role (any clerk who entered the profession after 1 October 2020)
  • Bryan Metcalf Award for Volunteering – awarded in memory of one of SLCC’s greatest and longest serving volunteers, this award is presented to a clerk who has demonstrated exceptional voluntary service to the SLCC
  • Professional Innovation Award – awarded to recognise your SLCC’s core values, this award is presented to a clerk who has demonstrated exceptional creativity or an innovative approach in any element of the delivery of their council’s work
  • Best magazine article by a member – presented to the clerk who has contributed the best article to The Clerk magazine in the preceding year (from 1 October 2022)
  • Best case study at an SLCC event – awarded to the clerk who has presented the best-case study at an SLCC conference or Themed Summit in the preceding year (from 1 October 2022)
  • Long Service Award(s) – awarded to a limited number of nominees annually who have served SLCC over an extended period. Please note that the minimum criteria for a successful nomination are: 30 years’ service as a clerk, active service to SLCC, retired or retiring between 1 June 2023 and 31 May 2024

Nominations have now closed.

SLCC Training and Updates