Shortlist for Society Awards announced

24 September 2018

SLCC is pleased to announce the final shortlist of nominees for its annual awards, which will be presented at the start of the National Conference on Wednesday 10th October.

All the following nominees will be invited to attend and be recognised at the awards ceremony before the final winner, selected by the Awards Panel, is announced:

New Clerk of the year

Bee Lopez Bloor – Cheshire Branch

Annie Child – Wiltshire Branch

Emily Forbes – Glamorgan Branch

Professional Innovation Award

Julie Larter – Cornwall Branch

Michael Lennon – Staffordshire Branch

Helen Watson – East Riding of Yorkshire and North Lincolnshire Branch

Bryan Metcalf Award for Volunteering

Alan Blakeley – Lancashire Branch

Michael King – Co Durham and Cleveland Branch

Tracey Price – Powys Branch

Best Clerk Magazine Article 2018

Catherine Purves ‘A China or Chocolate Teapot’ July 2018 – Wiltshire Branch

Kath Wigley ‘Being Clerk to a Small Community in Wales’ January 2018 – Powys Branch

Best Case Study at Residential or Regional Event

Ed Humphreys ‘A Major Community Engagement exercise when taking on more services and assets’ – Powys Branch

Ian Morris ‘Does culture really eat strategy for breakfast?’ – Co Durham and Cleveland Branch

Long Service Award

Richard Bishop – Norfolk Branch

Johnathan Bourne – Wiltshire Branch

Carol Carter – Bedfordshire Branch

Gwyneth Davies – Powys Branch

Linda Hedley – Kent Branch

Malcolm Neill – West Yorkshire Branch

Lesley Reuben – Gloucestershire and South Gloucestershire Branch

James Wildash – North Yorkshire Branch

Outstanding Achievement Award

Jonathan Bellingham – Powys Branch

Chris Shaw – Cheshire Branch

Myrna Liles Cup for Branch Development

Cambridgeshire Branch

Essex Branch

Hereford Branch

John Crompton Cup for Mentoring

Dave Crimmin – Suffolk Branch

Rodney Duggua – Sussex Branch


General Sector News